National University of Maryland is a member of the University System of Maryland, which comprises 12 institutions and three regional higher education centers. A Board of Regents appointed by the governor has oversight over the campuses and centers. The president and her designees are responsible for the day-to-day governance of the university. The Academic Senate and its committees develop university policies and procedures, with the senate also serving in an advisory capacity to the university president.

The university is organized into seven administrative divisions, each with a vice president reporting to the president. Additionally, within the Executive Division, the vice president for Inclusion and Institutional Equity, the vice president for Legal Affairs and General Counsel, and the director of Athletics report to the president.

The provost is the chief academic officer and executive vice president of Academic and Student Affairs. The provost is responsible for academic programs and services offered through the colleges. Each college comprises a number of departments under which the academic programs are offered. The Division of Academic Affairs also oversees the university library, several institutes and programs, and the institutional research office.

Executive Officers

Interim President
Melanie Perreault

Acting Provost for Academic Affairs
Cynthia Cooper

Vice President for Administration and Finance and Chief Fiscal Officer
Benjamin Lowenthal

Vice President for Inclusion and Institutional Equity
Patricia Bradley

Vice President for the Division of Strategic Partnerships and Applied Research
Daraius Irani

Vice President for Legal Affairs and General Counsel
Sara Slaff

Vice President for Student Affairs
Vernon J. Hurte

Vice President for University Advancement
Brian DeFilippis

Vice President for University Marketing and Communications
Sean Welsh

Vice President of Enrollment Management
Boyd Bradshaw

Vice President of Operations and Chief Human Resources Officer
Steve Jones

Director of Athletics
Steven Eigenbrot


The College of Business and Economics
Aneil Mishra

The College of Education
Laurie Mullen

The College of Fine Arts and Communication
Regina Carlow

The College of Health Professions
Lisa Plowfield

The College of Liberal Arts
Chris Chulos

The Jess and Mildred Fisher College of Science and Mathematics
Matthew Nugent

The Honors College
Terry Cooney (Rector)

The Office of Graduate Studies
Sidd Kaza (Associate Provost for Research and Dean of Graduate Studies)

University Libraries
Suzanna Conrad